Community - Cook Kosher
Welcome Guest   [Register]  [Login]
How to Search by Recipe Number?   by smartcookie on 03/13/2012 09:23
How to Link to a Recipe?   by Dumbledore [Admin] on 02/07/2011 11:46
  Subject :Gluten-Free Challah
01/12/2011 10:44 
Joined: 01/12/2011 02:48
Posts: 2
I think the gluten Gluten-Free Challah Recipe #1012 is a good idea, but you should be sure if it really is gluten free because it can really be harmful for those allergic to gluten.

Oat flour is NOT considered by all 100% gluten-free.
Last Edited On: 01/12/2011 10:53 By Dumbledore [Admin] - Reason: Added link
  Subject :Re:Gluten-Free Challah
01/12/2011 11:09 
Joined: 01/05/2011 02:31
Posts: 2
I use Gluten-Free Oats. Have you never seen Bob's Red Mill's Gluten-Free Oats?

The reason that oats can be NOT gluten-free is either 1) how they are grown or 2) how they are processed. Some do have sensitivities, but most studies have shown that individuals with celiacs have no serious reactions to oats when not consumed in mass doses.
Last Edited On: 01/12/2011 11:10 By kvetchingeditor - Reason: Removed mysterious smiley.
  Subject :Re:Gluten-Free Challah
01/12/2011 19:44 
Joined: 01/12/2011 02:48
Posts: 2
Thank you for your response.
I am not familiar with "Bob's Red Mill's Gluten-Free Oats".
Someone in my family has celiacs, and pessach she has to have gluten free matzoh. There is one company that sells oat gluten-free matzho, however, every pessach this family member of mine does have serious allergic reactions to it. After inquiring with a specialist in celiacs, the doctor said that oats are not 100% gluten-free, and she is very sensitive to it.
Maybe "Bob's Red Mill's Gluten-Free Oats" are oats without this issue, but then that would have to be specified on a recipe with the name of it being "gluten-free challah".
I hope you can understand.
Posts per page

JJextensions Developed by JJExtensions
RADesign Designed by RADesign
zest CookKosher is a Zest Group project